take note

idiom

: to notice or give special attention to someone or something
She has been extremely successful in her own country, and now the rest of the world is beginning to take note.
She took note of the exact time.

Examples of take note in a Sentence

Recent Examples on the Web Western business executives who still think that Hong Kong is a fine environment in which to operate should take note. The Editors, National Review, 21 Mar. 2024 Buy Now 17 of 18 'The City of Stardust' by Georgia Summers Fans of Neil Gaiman and V. E. Schwab, take note of this bewitching contemporary romantasy novel about gods, monsters and hidden worlds. Lizz Schumer, Peoplemag, 7 Mar. 2024 Just take note that this set is not dishwasher-safe and should be hand-washed only with a non-abrasive sponge. Nor'adila Hepburn, Southern Living, 1 Mar. 2024 Beyoncé fans take note: the beauty icon just shared her haircare routine. Jackie Fields, Peoplemag, 20 Feb. 2024 Also, take note of the tier and prior authorization requirements. Sarah Scott, Parents, 20 Feb. 2024 Featuring an eclectic roster of motors that would have made Ross himself sit up and take note, this year saw BMW battle Alfa Romeo, Maserati take on Maybach, and Mercedes-AMG go head-to-head with Rolls-Royce. Paul Croughton, Robb Report, 18 Feb. 2024 Travelers visiting one of Italy’s cities should take note of new crowd control measures, such as Venice’s new daily tickets, or admission fees to visit Rome's Pantheon. Michael Cappetta, Travel + Leisure, 15 Feb. 2024 In Miami-Dade, educators are starting to take note of the impact the permission-slip policy is having on their daily jobs. Ana Ceballos, Miami Herald, 8 Feb. 2024

These examples are programmatically compiled from various online sources to illustrate current usage of the word 'take note.' Any opinions expressed in the examples do not represent those of Merriam-Webster or its editors. Send us feedback about these examples.

Dictionary Entries Near take note

Cite this Entry

“Take note.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/take%20note. Accessed 18 Apr. 2024.

Last Updated: - Updated example sentences
Love words? Need even more definitions?

Subscribe to America's largest dictionary and get thousands more definitions and advanced search—ad free!