Law Dictionary

separation of powers

  1. 1 :  the constitutional allocation of the legislative, executive, and judicial powers among the three branches of government

  2. 2 :  the doctrine under which the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government are not to infringe upon each other's constitutionally vested powers — see also nondelegation doctrine

Learn More about separation of powers

Seen and Heard

What made you want to look up separation of powers? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).


a rounded knoll or a ridge of ice

Get Word of the Day daily email!