naya paisa

na·​ya pai·​sa | \ nəˌyäˌpīˈsä \
plural naye paise\ nəˌyāˌpīˈsā \

Definition of naya paisa

: the paisa of India that was issued from 1957 to 1964

Note: When India adopted the decimal system of coinage in 1957, the subdivision of the rupee was called naya paisa to distinguish it from the old paisa which was still in circulation. Under decimalization, the rupee is divided into 100 paise instead of the predecimalization 64.

Love words?

You must — there are over 200,000 words in our free online dictionary, but you are looking for one that’s only in the Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary.

Start your free trial today and get unlimited access to America's largest dictionary, with:

  • More than 250,000 words that aren't in our free dictionary
  • Expanded definitions, etymologies, and usage notes
  • Advanced search features
  • Ad free!

First Known Use of naya paisa

1956, in the meaning defined above

History and Etymology for naya paisa

Hindi nayā paisā, literally, new pice

Learn More About naya paisa

Time Traveler for naya paisa

Time Traveler

The first known use of naya paisa was in 1956

See more words from the same year

Dictionary Entries Near naya paisa


naya paisa


See More Nearby Entries 

Statistics for naya paisa

Cite this Entry

“Naya paisa.” Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, Accessed 30 Nov. 2021.

Style: MLA
MLACheck Mark Icon ChicagoCheck Mark Icon APACheck Mark Icon Merriam-WebsterCheck Mark Icon


Test Your Vocabulary

Name that Thing: Flower Edition

Name That Thing

Test your visual vocabulary with our 10-question challenge!

Love words? Need even more definitions?

Subscribe to America's largest dictionary and get thousands more definitions and advanced search—ad free!