bewitch

verb

be·​witch bi-ˈwich How to pronounce bewitch (audio)
bē-
bewitched; bewitching; bewitches

transitive verb

1
a
: to influence or affect especially injuriously by witchcraft
b
: to cast a spell over
2
: to attract as if by the power of witchcraft : enchant, fascinate
bewitched by her beauty

intransitive verb

: to bewitch someone or something
bewitchery noun

Examples of bewitch in a Sentence

People believed the girls had been bewitched. a Wiccan who believes that it is indeed possible to bewitch someone
Recent Examples on the Web The slow build of tension between the two is bound to bewitch you, body and soul. Sophie Dodd, Peoplemag, 16 May 2024 With a sprinkle of '80s nonsensical wit, Splash is an easy-breezy watch that finds its place in the sun by being ridiculously campy while grounding itself in earnestness, thanks to Hanks and Hannah's bewitching lead performances. EW.com, 13 May 2024 Witnessing that eclipse, even without totality, was bewitching. Levi Mandel, Condé Nast Traveler, 12 Apr. 2024 Masha falls for Nikolai, who bewitches her with his weird love for their work. Helen Shaw, The New Yorker, 15 Feb. 2024 That choice is part of a bewitching structure that drifts in and out of the character’s work routine to show how the mental labor continues after hours. Stephen Saito, Variety, 16 Mar. 2024 Buy Now 17 of 18 'The City of Stardust' by Georgia Summers Fans of Neil Gaiman and V. E. Schwab, take note of this bewitching contemporary romantasy novel about gods, monsters and hidden worlds. Lizz Schumer, Peoplemag, 7 Mar. 2024 Even before the fire bursts onto the scene, her descriptions of the natural world are bewitching and distressing. Kayla Maiuri, San Diego Union-Tribune, 25 Feb. 2024 Great or merely bewitching, the paintings were impossible to absorb given the crowds. Brian T. Allen, National Review, 21 Dec. 2023

These examples are programmatically compiled from various online sources to illustrate current usage of the word 'bewitch.' Any opinions expressed in the examples do not represent those of Merriam-Webster or its editors. Send us feedback about these examples.

Word History

First Known Use

13th century, in the meaning defined at transitive sense 1a

Time Traveler
The first known use of bewitch was in the 13th century

Dictionary Entries Near bewitch

Cite this Entry

“Bewitch.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bewitch. Accessed 18 Jun. 2024.

Kids Definition

bewitch

verb
be·​witch bi-ˈwich How to pronounce bewitch (audio)
1
: to put under a spell
2
: to attract or delight as if by magic
bewitchment
-mənt
noun

More from Merriam-Webster on bewitch

Last Updated: - Updated example sentences
Love words? Need even more definitions?

Subscribe to America's largest dictionary and get thousands more definitions and advanced search—ad free!