geographical name Yu·go·sla·via \ˌyü-gō-ˈslä-vē-ə, ˌyü-gə-\
variants: or earlier


\ˌyü-gō-ˈslä-vē-ə, ˌyü-gə-\play

Definition of Yugoslavia

  1. 1 former country in southern Europe on the Balkan Peninsula consisting of Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Macedonia Yugoslavia was established 1918 as a kingdom (the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes) and became a federal republic in 1945 with Belgrade as its capital.

  2. 2 — see serbia and montenegro


play \ˌyü-gō-ˈsläv, -ˈslav; ˈyü-gō-ˌ\ or


play \ˌyü-gō-ˈslä-vē-ən, -gə-\ adj or noun

YUGOSLAVIA Defined for English Language Learners


geographical name Yu·go·sla·via \ˌyü-gō-ˈslä-vē-ə, ˌyü-gə-\

Definition of Yugoslavia for English Language Learners

  • : former country in Europe

Learn More about yugoslavia

Seen and Heard

What made you want to look up Yugoslavia? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).