North Rhine–Westphalia

geographical name \ˈnȯrt-ˌrīn-ˌvest-ˈfä-lən\
variants: or German



Definition of North Rhine–Westphalia

  1. state of Germany and formerly of West Germany formed in 1946 by the union of former Westphalia province, Lippe state, and northern Rhine Province and bordering on the Netherlands and Belgium; capital Düsseldorf area 13,142 square miles (34,038 square kilometers), population 17,538,251

Seen and Heard

What made you want to look up North Rhine–Westphalia? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).