European Union

geographical name
variants: or formerly

European Communities


European Community

Definition of European Union

  1. economic, scientific, and political organization consisting of Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, the United Kingdom, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Finland, Sweden, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania, and Croatia

Learn More about european union

Seen and Heard

What made you want to look up European Union? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).


a favoring of the simplest explanation

Get Word of the Day daily email!