South Orkney Islands

South Orkney Islands

geographical name


islands S. Atlantic SE of the Falklands in British Antarctic Territory area 240 square miles (622 square kilometers)

South Orkney Islands

   (Concise Encyclopedia)

Island group, southern Atlantic Ocean. Located southeast of South America, the South Orkneys are composed of two large islands (Coronation and Laurie) and many smaller islands; they form part of the British Antarctic Territory. Barren and uninhabited, the islands have a total area of 240 sq mi (620 sq km). They were part of the Falkland Islands Dependencies until 1962. Signy Island is used as a base for Antarctic exploration.


Next Word in the Dictionary: South Ossetia
Previous Word in the Dictionary: South Nahanni

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up South Orkney Islands? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).