Marquesas Islands

Mar·que·sas Islands

geographical name \mär-ˈkā-zəz, -zəs, -səz, -səs\


islands S. Pacific N of Tuamotu Archipelago in French Polynesia Taiohae (on Nuku Hiva) area 480 square miles (1248 square kilometers), pop 7358


Mar·que·sas Islands or French Îles Mar·quises \ˌēl-mär-ˈkēz\

Marquesas Islands

   (Concise Encyclopedia)

Island group (pop., 2002: 8,712), French Polynesia. Located in the central South Pacific Ocean northeast of Tahiti, the Marquesas comprise 10 islands. The southeastern group includes Hiva Oa, the largest and most populous island and the burial place of artist Paul Gauguin; Fatu Hiva and Tahuata; and the uninhabited Motane and Fatu Huku. The northwestern group comprises Nuku Hiva, Ua Pu, Ua Huka, Eiao, and Hatutu. The Spanish explorer Àlvaro de Mendaña de Neira named the islands for the marquesa de Mendoza in 1595. Annexed by France in 1842, the Marquesas form an administrative division of French Polynesia with headquarters at Taiohae on Nuku Hiva.


Next Word in the Dictionary: Marrakech
Previous Word in the Dictionary: Maros

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up Marquesas Islands? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).