Malay Archipelago

Ma·lay Archipelago

geographical name \mə-ˈlā, ˈmā-(ˌ)lā\


archipelago SE Asia including Sumatra, Java, Borneo, Sulawesi, Moluccas, & Timor —usually considered to include also the Philippines & sometimes New Guinea

Malay Archipelago

   (Concise Encyclopedia)

Largest group of islands in the world, located off the southeastern coast of Asia between the Indian and Pacific oceans. It consists of the more than 13,000 islands of Indonesia and some 7,000 islands of the Philippines. Formerly called the East Indies, the archipelago extends along the Equator for more than 3,800 mi (6,100 km). Principal islands include the Greater Sunda Islands (Sumatra, Java, Borneo, and Celebes), the Lesser Sundas, the Moluccas, New Guinea, Luzon, Mindanao, and the Visayan Islands.


Next Word in the Dictionary: Malay Peninsula
Previous Word in the Dictionary: Malaya

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up Malay Archipelago? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).