geographical name \mə-ˈlä-wē\

Definition of MALAWI

country SE Africa bordering on Lake Malawi; formerly a British protectorate; independent member of the Commonwealth of Nations since 1964; a republic since 1966 Lilongwe area 45,747 square miles (118,485 square kilometers), pop 13,100,000
Ma·la·wi·an \-ən\ adjective or noun

Variants of MALAWI

Ma·la·wi or formerly Ny·asa·land \nī-ˈa-sə-ˌland, nē-\


geographical name    (Concise Encyclopedia)

/div>Country, southeastern Africa. Area: 45,747 sq mi (118,484 sq km). Population: (2009 est.) 15,029,000. Capital: Lilongwe (judiciary meets in Blantyre). Almost the entire population consists of Bantu-speaking Africans. Languages: English, Chewa, Lomwe. Religions: Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic), Islam, traditional beliefs. Currency: Malawian kwacha. Malawi's terrain is characterized by dramatic highlands and extensive lakes, with forests occupying about one-fourth of the total land area. The Great Rift Valley runs north-south and contains Lake Nyasa (Lake Malawi). Agriculture employs more than four-fifths of the workforce; staple crops include corn (maize), peanuts (groundnuts), beans, and peas, and cash crops include tobacco, tea, sugarcane, and cotton. Coal mining and limestone quarrying also contribute to the economy. Major industrial products are food products, beverages, chemicals, and textiles. Malawi is a multiparty republic with one legislative house; its head of state and government is the president. Inhabited since 8000 BCE, the region was settled by Bantu-speaking peoples between the 1st and 4th centuries CE. They established separate states, and c. 1480 they founded the Maravi confederacy, which encompassed most of central and southern Malawi. In northern Malawi the Ngonde people established a kingdom c. 1600, and in the 18th century the Chikulamayembe state was founded. The slave trade flourished during the 18th–19th century; Islam and Christianity arrived in the region c. 1860. Britain established colonial authority in 1891, creating the Nyasaland Districts Protectorate. It became the British Central Africa Protectorate in 1893 and Nyasaland in 1907. The colonies of Northern and Southern Rhodesia and Nyasaland formed a federation (1951–53), which was dissolved in 1963. The next year Malawi achieved independence as a member of the British Commonwealth. In 1966 it became a republic, with Hastings Kamuzu Banda as president. In 1971 he was designated president for life, and he ruled for three decades before being defeated in multiparty presidential elections in 1994. A new constitution was adopted in 1995.

Variants of MALAWI

Malawi officially Republic of Malawi formerly Nyasaland


Next Word in the Dictionary: Malawi, Lake
Previous Word in the Dictionary: Malatya

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up Malawi? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).