Cayman Islands

Cay·man Islands

geographical name \(ˌ)kā-ˈman, attributively ˈkā-mən\

Definition of CAYMAN ISLANDS

islands W. Indies NW of Jamaica; a British colony George Town (on Grand Cayman, chief island) area 100 square miles (259 square kilometers), pop 23,881
Cay·man·i·an \kā-ˈma-nē-ən\ adjective or noun

Cayman Islands

   (Concise Encyclopedia)

/div>British overseas territory, Caribbean Sea, located about 180 mi (290 km) northwest of Jamaica. The islands include Grand Cayman (the largest), Little Cayman, and Cayman Brac. Area: 102 sq mi (264 sq km). Population: (2009 est.) 55,000. Capital: George Town, on Grand Cayman. English is the official language. Though discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1503, the islands were never occupied by the Spanish. Ceded to the British in 1670, they were subsequently settled by the English arriving from Jamaica. The islands were administered as a dependency of Jamaica until Jamaican independence in 1962. A constitution was enacted in 1972; it was replaced in 2009. The governor of the Cayman Islands is appointed by the British crown. The islands are a popular tourist area and a financial centre.


Next Word in the Dictionary: Ceará
Previous Word in the Dictionary: Cayey

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up Cayman Islands? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).