geographical name \ˌa-zər-ˌbī-ˈjän, ˌä-\

Definition of AZERBAIJAN

or ancient At·ro·pa·te·ne \ˌa-trō-pə-ˈtē-nē\ or Me·dia Atropatene \ˈmē-dē-ə\ region NW Iran; chief city Tabriz
independent country W Asia & SE Europe bordering on Caspian Sea; a constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics 1936–91 Baku area 33,200 square miles (86,320 square kilometers), pop 8,200,000


geographical name    (Concise Encyclopedia)

/div>Country, Transcaucasia, western Asia. Area: 33,436 sq mi (86,600 sq km). Population: (2009 est.) 8,832,000. Capital: Baku. Most residents are of Turkic origin, dating from the 11th century. Later migrations during the Seljuq period brought further groups, including some speaking Persian; Russians are a decreasing minority. Languages: Azerbaijanian (official), Russian. Religion: Islam (mostly Shi'ite). Currency: manat. Azerbaijan is characterized by a variety of landscapes. More than two-fifths of its territory is lowlands, while areas above 5,000 ft (1,500 m) occupy some one-tenth of the total area. The central part of the country is a plain through which flows the Kura River and its tributaries, including the Aras, whose upper course forms part of the boundary with Iran. The Caspian Sea serves Baku as a trade outlet. Agriculture, petroleum refining, and light manufacturing are economically important. Azerbaijan is a unitary multiparty republic with one legislative body; its head of state and government is the president, assisted by the prime minister. Azerbaijan adjoins the Iranian region of the same name, and the origin of their respective inhabitants is the same. By the 9th century CE it had come under Turkish influence, and in ensuing centuries it was fought over by Arabs, Mongols, Turks, and Iranians. Russia acquired what is now independent Azerbaijan in the early 19th century. After the Russian Revolution of 1917, Azerbaijan declared its independence, but it was subdued by the Red Army in 1920 and was incorporated into the Soviet Union. It declared independence from the collapsing Soviet Union in 1991. Azerbaijan has two geographic peculiarities. The exclave Naxçivan (Nakhichevan) is separated from the rest of Azerbaijan by Armenian territory. Nagorno-Karabakh, which lies within Azerbaijan and is administered by it, has a Christian Armenian majority. Azerbaijan and Armenia went to war over both territories in the 1990s, causing many deaths and great economic disruption. Though attempts at mediation were made, the political situation remained unresolved.

Variants of AZERBAIJAN

Azerbaijan officially Republic of Azerbaijan


Next Word in the Dictionary: Azincourt
Previous Word in the Dictionary: Ayutthaya

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up Azerbaijan? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).