geographical name \-ˈhəŋ-gə-rē\


dual monarchy 1867–1918 cen Europe including Bohemia, Moravia, Bukovina, Transylvania, Galicia, and what is now Austria, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, & NE Italy
Aus·tro–Hun·gar·i·an \ˈs-(ˌ)trō-ˌhəŋ-ˈger-ē-ən, ˈäs-\ adjective or noun


   (Concise Encyclopedia)

Former monarchy, central Europe. Austria-Hungary at one time included Austria and Hungary, Bohemia, Moravia, Bukovina, Transylvania, Carniola, Küstenland, Dalmatia, Croatia, Fiume, and Galicia. The so-called Dual Monarchy, formed by the Compromise of 1867, created a king of Hungary in addition to the existing Austrian emperor; though these were the same person, Hungary was granted its own parliament and considerable autonomy. Francis Joseph held both titles from Austria-Hungary's inception until his death in 1916. Up to 1914, the monarchy maintained a precarious balance among its many minorities; that year saw the balance toppled with the assassination of the Austro-Hungarian Francis Ferdinand by a Serbian nationalist that precipitated World War I. With its defeat in that war and revolutions by the Czechs, Yugoslavs, and Hungarians, the monarchy collapsed in 1918.


Austria-Hungary or Austro-Hungarian Empire


Next Word in the Dictionary: Austronesia
Previous Word in the Dictionary: Austria

Seen & Heard

What made you want to look up Austria-Hungary? Please tell us where you read or heard it (including the quote, if possible).