Windsor, house of

Windsor, house of

Royal house of Britain, which succeeded the house of Hanover on the death of its last monarch, Queen Victoria. The dynastic name of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha was that of Victoria's German-born husband, Prince Albert. The dynasty has included Edward VII, George V, Edward VIII, George VI, and Elizabeth II. In view of the anti-German atmosphere of World War I, George V proclaimed in 1917 that all British male descendants of Queen Victoria would adopt the surname of Windsor.


Windsor, house of formerly (1901–17) House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Windsor, house of, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Windsor, house of? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More