Warsaw Pact

Warsaw Pact

Military alliance of the Soviet Union, Albania (until 1968), Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, and Romania, formed in 1955 in response to West Germany's entry into NATO. Its terms included a unified military command and the stationing of Soviet troops in the other member states. Warsaw Pact troops were called into action to suppress uprisings in Poland (1956), Hungary (1956), and Czechoslovakia (1968). The alliance was dissolved in 1991 after the collapse of the Soviet bloc, and Soviet troops departed. Several Warsaw Pact members later joined NATO.

Variants of WARSAW PACT

Warsaw Pact or Warsaw Treaty Organization

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Warsaw Pact, visit Britannica.com.

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Warsaw Pact? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.