Visayan Islands

Visayan Islands

geographical name

Group of islands, central Philippines. Covering some 23,550 sq mi (61,000 sq km), they are surrounded by the Visayan, Samar, and Camotes seas. The main islands are Bohol, Cebu, Leyte, Masbate, Negros, Panay, and Samar. These islands and their smaller neighbours make up the central group of the Philippine archipelago. Agriculture and fishing are important. The major urban centres are Cebu City on Cebu and Iloilo City on Panay.


Visayan Islands or Visayas

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Visayan Islands, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Visayan Islands? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.