Tuamotu Archipelago

Tuamotu Archipelago

Group of some 80 islands (pop., 2002: 15,973), French Polynesia. The archipelago comprises 75 atolls, one raised coral atoll (Makatea), and innumerable coral reefs, roughly dispersed northwest-southeast as a double chain for more than 900 miles (1,450 km). Europeans visited the islands in the 16th and 17th centuries. France occupied them in 1844 and annexed them in 1880 as a Tahitian dependency. They now form, with the Gambier Islands, an administrative division of French Polynesia. In 1947 Thor Heyerdahl's Kon-Tiki expedition ended on Raroia, one of Tuamotu's many reefs. France has used some uninhabited atolls in the archipelago for nuclear-weapons testing.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Tuamotu Archipelago, visit Britannica.com.

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Tuamotu Archipelago? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More