Triple Crown

Triple Crown

In U.S. horse racing, an unofficial championship attributed to a Thoroughbred horse that in a single season wins the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. First won in 1919 by Sir Barton, it has since been won 10 times, most recently by Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977), and Affirmed (1978).

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Triple Crown, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Triple Crown? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More