Sao Tome and Principe

Sao Tome and Principe


Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Island country, central Africa. It is situated on the Equator in the Gulf of Guinea, west of the African mainland. Area: sq mi ( sq km). Population: . Capital: São Tomé. Most of the people are Forro, a mixture of African and European ancestry, or Angolares, the descendants of former Angolan slaves. Languages: Portuguese (official), Creole. Religion: Christianity (predominantly Roman Catholic; also Protestant). Currency: dobra. The country consists of the two main islands, São Tomé and Príncipe, which are separated by about 90 mi (145 km), and a number of islets. The two main islands each have northeastern lowlands, central volcanic highlands, and swift-flowing streams. The economy, partly government-controlled and partly private, has long depended heavily on international assistance; it is based on agriculture and fishing, although petroleum-related earnings have increased since the late 1990s. The country is a multiparty republic with one legislative house; its head of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. First visited by European navigators in the 1470s, the islands were soon colonized by the Portuguese and were used in the trade and transshipment of slaves. Sugar and cocoa were the main cash crops. The islands became an overseas province of Portugal in 1951, and they achieved independence in 1975. Príncipe became autonomous in 1995.


Sao Tome and Principe officially Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Sao Tome and Principe, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Sao Tome and Principe? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.