In Buddhism, any of the 16 planes of existence into which those beings who have renounced sense desires are reborn. It is intermediate between the kama-loka, where material beings are born, and the arupa-loka, where only the mind exists. Its upper levels are called the Pure Abodes, the birthplace of those beings who do not return to lower planes in subsequent births. The rupa-loka, free from sensuous desire but still conditioned by form, is inhabited by gods. See also karma.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on rupa-loka, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up rupa-loka? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More