Former territory, east-central Africa. It was administered by Belgium from 1922 to 1962, during which time it was reconstituted (1946) as a UN trust territory. It was part of the Belgian Congo from 1925 to 1960. In 1962 it was divided into the independent states of Rwanda and Burundi.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Ruanda-Urundi, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Ruanda-Urundi? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More