Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea

Island country, southwestern Pacific Ocean. Area: 178,704 sq mi (462,840 sq km). Population: (2009 est.) 5,941,000. Capital: Port Moresby. Most of the people are Papuan (four-fifths) and Melanesian; ethnic minorities are Polynesian, Chinese, and European. Languages: English, Tok Pisin, Hiri Motu (all official); indigenous languages. Religions: Christianity (Protestant, Roman Catholic); also traditional beliefs. Currency: kina. The island of New Guinea constitutes about seven-eighths of the total land area of Papua New Guinea; the country also includes Bougainville Island and the Bismarck Archipelago. The New Guinea terrain ranges from swampy lowland plains in the south and north to high central mountains (the highlands) in the northwest and southeast. Much of the land is covered with tropical rainforest. Some of the outlying islands are volcanic. The country has a developing mixed economy based largely on subsistence agriculture and the export of minerals. It is a constitutional monarchy with one legislative house; its head of state is the British monarch, represented by the governor-general, and the head of government is the prime minister. The area has been inhabited since prehistoric times, and farming has been practiced since c. 7000 BCE. The Portuguese sighted the coast in 1511, and the first European landing was about 1526–27. The first European colony was founded in 1793 by the British. In 1828 the Dutch claimed the western half as part of the Dutch East Indies. In 1884 Britain annexed the southeastern part and Germany took over the northeastern sector. In 1906 the British part (renamed Papua) passed to Australia, which also governed the German sector after World War I. After World War II, Australia governed both sectors as the Territory of Papua and New Guinea. Dutch New Guinea was annexed to Indonesia in 1969. Papua New Guinea achieved independence in 1975 and joined the British Commonwealth. By the mid-1990s the government of Papua New Guinea was seeking to resolve a long-standing conflict with Bougainville independence fighters, and in 2001 the two sides agreed on a peace treaty; Bougainville became an autonomous region in 2005.


Papua New Guinea officially Independent State of Papua New Guinea

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Papua New Guinea, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Papua New Guinea? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.