Province (pop., 2005 est.: 2,460,700), Indonesia. It includes the western half of the island of New Guinea and its offshore islands and the Schouten and Raja Ampat island groups. The Maoke Mountains rise to 16,503 ft (5,030 m) at Mount Jaya. Papua was first sighted by the Portuguese in 1511, and it was claimed by the Dutch in 1828. It was transferred to Indonesia in 1963 and was made a province in 1969, with its capital at Jayapura. Rebels led a separatist movement there in the late 1990s, and Papua achieved greater autonomy in 2001. The western portion of the province was later designated as West Papua (Papua Barat) province by the Indonesian government.

Variants of PAPUA

Papua formerly Irian Jaya

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Papua, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Papua? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.