Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT)

Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT)

International agreement intended to prevent the spread of nuclear technology. It was signed by the U.S., Britain, the Soviet Union, and 59 other countries in 1968. The three major signatories agreed not to assist states lacking nuclear weapons to obtain or produce them; the nonnuclear signatories agreed not to attempt to obtain nuclear weapons in exchange for assistance in developing nuclear power for peaceful purposes. France and China, both nuclear powers, declined to ratify the treaty until 1992, and some nuclear powers, including Israel and Pakistan, have never signed it. In 1995, when the treaty was due to expire, it was extended indefinitely by a consensus vote of 174 countries at the United Nations. See also Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty.


Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT) officially Treaty on the Non-proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT), visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT)? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.