Warty newt (Triturus cristatus)—Toni Angermayer

Any of more than 40 salamander species (family Salamandridae) prevalent in the southeastern U.S. and Mexico and also found in Asia and Great Britain. Aquatic species are called newts; terrestrial species are called efts. Newts have a long, slender body, and the tail is higher than it is wide. They eat earthworms, insects, snails, and other small animals. Both aquatic and terrestrial species breed in ponds. The three species (genus Triturus) in Britain are sometimes called tritons. The red eft (Notophthalmus viridescens) of eastern North America is bright red during its terrestrial youth, after which it becomes permanently aquatic and dull green.

Variants of NEWT

newt or eft

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on newt, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up newt? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.