National League (NL)

National League (NL)

Oldest existing U.S. major-league professional baseball organization. The league was founded in 1876. Its supremacy was challenged by several rival organizations over the years, of which only the American League has survived; beginning in 1903, the champions of the two leagues have engaged in an annual World Series competition. Today the National League consists of 16 teams aligned in three divisions. In the Eastern Division are the Atlanta Braves, Florida Marlins (Miami), New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, and Washington (D.C.) Nationals. In the Central Division are the Chicago Cubs, Cincinnati Reds, Houston Astros, Milwaukee Brewers, Pittsburgh Pirates, and St. Louis Cardinals. In the Western Division are the Arizona Diamondbacks (Phoenix), Colorado Rockies (Denver), Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres, and San Francisco Giants.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on National League (NL), visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up National League (NL)? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More