Maritime Provinces

Maritime Provinces

Canadian provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. They are located on the Atlantic Coast and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. With Newfoundland and Labrador they form the Atlantic Provinces. The name Acadia was applied to much of the region during French colonial rule, until it was ceded to the British in 1713.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Maritime Provinces, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Maritime Provinces? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More