Province (pop., 2002 est.: 42,030,000), northeastern China. It lies on the Yellow Sea and is bordered by North Korea, Jilin and Hebei provinces, and Inner Mongolia. With an area of 58,300 sq mi (151,000 sq km), it is the southernmost of the three provinces that form northeastern China. Its capital is Shenyang. It has four main topographical regions: the central plains, the Liaodong Peninsula, the western highlands, and the eastern mountain zone. In 1932–45 it was part of the Japanese puppet state of Manchukuo. Shenyang was taken by the Chinese communists in 1948. Liaoning is China's most industrialized province, producing steel, cement, crude oil, and electrical power.

Variants of LIAONING

Liaoning formerly (1903–28) Fengtian or Feng-t'ien

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Liaoning, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Liaoning? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.