Latin American Integration Association (LAIA)

Latin American Integration Association (LAIA)

International association of Latin American countries originally dedicated to improving its members' economic well-being through free trade. At its founding in 1960 LAFTA included Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay; by 1970 Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, and Bolivia had joined. The organization aimed to remove all trade barriers over 12 years, but its members' geographic and economic diversity made that goal impossible. LAFTA was superseded in 1980 by the LAIA, which established bilateral trading agreements between members, which were divided into three groups according to their level of economic development. Cuba was admitted with observer status in 1986, and it became a full member in 1999. See also Inter-American Development Bank.


Latin American Integration Association (LAIA) formerly (until 1980) Latin American Free Trade Association (LAFTA)

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Latin American Integration Association (LAIA), visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Latin American Integration Association (LAIA)? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More