Former Bantustan, Natal, Republic of South Africa. It was designated by the South African government as the Bantustan for the Zulu population in South Africa, with area scattered among 11 exclaves (detached sections) throughout the province of Natal. The capital, initially at Nongoma, was moved in 1980 to Ulundi, the last historic capital of the Zulu empire (founded in 1816 by Shaka). In 1994, after the abolition of apartheid, KwaZulu was incorporated into the new province of KwaZulu-Natal.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on KwaZulu, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up KwaZulu? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More