International Court of Justice (ICJ)

International Court of Justice (ICJ)

Principal judicial body of the United Nations, located at The Hague. Its predecessor organization was the Permanent Court of International Justice, the judicial body of the League of Nations. Its first session was held in 1946. Its jurisdiction is limited to disputes between states willing to accept its authority on matters of international law. Its decisions are binding, but it has no enforcement power; appeals must be made to the UN Security Council. Its 15-member body of judges, each of whom serves a nine-year term, is elected by countries party to the court's founding statute. No two judges may come from the same country. See also European Court of Justice.


International Court of Justice (ICJ) or World Court

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on International Court of Justice (ICJ), visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up International Court of Justice (ICJ)? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.