Hindu-Arabic numerals

Hindu-Arabic numerals

Set of 10 symbols—1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 0—that represent numbers in the decimal number system. They originated in India in the 6th or 7th century and were introduced to Europe through Arab mathematicians around the 12th century (see al-Khwarizmi). They represented a profound break with previous methods of counting, such as the abacus, and paved the way for the development of algebra.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Hindu-Arabic numerals, visit Britannica.com.

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Hindu-Arabic numerals? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More