International body created in 1999 that provides a forum for strategic economic communication between industrialized and developing countries. The G20 originated as a response to the economic crises of the late 1990s. Its membership comprises 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and the European Union. Meetings are held annually, and each summit is hosted and chaired by a different member. In addition, emergency summits may be called. Like the G7 (see G8), the G20 limits its discussion to economic matters.

Variants of G20

G20 in full Group of 20

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on G20, visit Britannica.com.

Seen & Heard

What made you look up G20? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.