French West Africa

French West Africa

Former federation of French dependencies, western Africa. It consisted of what are now the independent republics of Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal. The capital was at Dakar. The federation was established in 1895 and dissolved 1958–59. By 1960 the former colonial territories had become independent republics.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on French West Africa, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up French West Africa? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More