Franz Josef Land

Franz Josef Land

Archipelago, northeastern Barents Sea. Consisting of about 190 islands, it is the northernmost territory of Russia and the most northerly land of the Eastern Hemisphere. With a land area of about 6,229 sq mi (16,134 sq km), the islands comprise a series of lowland plateaus, 85% of which is ice-covered. The Arctic climate supports polar bears and the Arctic fox, with numerous bird species. The Soviet Union annexed the islands in 1926 and maintained permanent weather stations there.


Franz Josef Land Russian Zemlya Frantsa-Iosifa

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Franz Josef Land, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Franz Josef Land? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.