Cook Islands

Cook Islands

Island group (pop., 2006 prelim.: 19,569), southern Pacific Ocean. Located roughly 2,000 mi (3,000 km) northeast of New Zealand, the 15 islands, scattered from north to south over some 900 mi (1,450 km) of ocean, are divided into a southern group of nine islands, including Rarotonga (the location of Avarua, the seat of government), and a northern group of six. All except one in the northern group are true atolls; most in the southern group have volcanic interiors. They were probably settled by Polynesians from Tonga and Samoa; there is evidence of a highly organized society c. 1100 CE. Capt. James Cook explored many of the islands during the 1770s. Established as a British protectorate in 1888, they were annexed by New Zealand in 1901. Self-government in free association with New Zealand was achieved in 1965.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Cook Islands, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Cook Islands? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More