Confederation of the Rhine

Confederation of the Rhine

(1806–13) Union of all the states of Germany, except Austria and Prussia, under the aegis of Napoleon. Napoleon's primary interest in the confederation, which enabled the French to unify and dominate the country, was as a counterweight to Austria and Prussia. The confederation was abolished after Napoleon's fall from power, but the consolidation it entailed contributed to the movement for German unification.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Confederation of the Rhine, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Confederation of the Rhine? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More