Community of Christ

Community of Christ

Faction of the religion founded by Joseph Smith in 1830, whose main body became the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, or Mormon church. The sect, originally known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, broke away in 1852, rejecting the leadership of Brigham Young in favour of Smith's son; it also rejected the practice of polygamy and the label Mormon. Its teachings are based on the Bible, the Book of Mormon, and the Doctrine and Covenants, a book of revelations received by its prophets. In 2001 the church formally changed its name to Community of Christ. In the early 21st century it had about 250,000 members and was headquartered in Independence, Mo.


Community of Christ formerly Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Community of Christ, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Community of Christ? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.