Caucasus Mountains

Caucasus Mountains

Mountain range between the Black and Caspian seas. It is sometimes considered the southeastern limit of Europe. Of volcanic origin, it forms two distinct chains—the Greater Caucasus in the north and the Lesser Caucasus in the south—that extend about 750 mi (1,200 km) across southern Russia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, and Armenia. Many peaks rise above 15,000 ft (4,600 m); the highest is Mount Elbrus. The range is crossed by several high passes, including the Daryal and Mamison. It possesses considerable waterpower resources, including those in the Kura-Aras Lowland, and valuable petroleum and natural gas reserves. Caucasus Nature Reserve and other areas in the western part of the range were designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1999.


Caucasus Mountains Russian Kavkazsky Khrebet

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Caucasus Mountains, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Caucasus Mountains? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.