Autonomous community (pop., 2001: 2,456,474) and historic region, northern Spain. Established in 1983, it encompasses the provinces of Valladolid, Burgos, León, Salamanca, Zamora, Polencia, and Segovia and covers an area of 36,380 sq mi (94,224 sq km). Its capital is Valladolid. It occupies the elevated Central Plateau and is drained by the Douro River, which bisects the region. The Cantabrian Mountains rise to the north. The area's population experienced periods of decline in the 20th century, with notable emigration from the countryside to the provincial capitals. Its economy is largely agricultural. See also Castile.

Variants of CASTILE-LEÓN

Castile-León Spanish Castilla y León

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Castile-Le{oacute}n, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Castile-León? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.