Castile-La Mancha

Castile–La Mancha

Autonomous community (pop., 2005 est.: 1,894,667) and historic region, central Spain. Established in 1982, it encompasses the provinces of Toledo, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Guadalajara, and Albacete and covers an area of 30,681 sq mi (79,463 sq km). Its capital is Toledo. The watershed of the low-lying Toledo Mountains bisects the region; land to the north is drained by the Tagus River, and the plains of La Mancha to the south are drained by the Guadiana. In the 20th century, emigration to Madrid depleted the population. Agriculture dominates the economy. See Castile; Miguel de Cervantes.


Castile–La Mancha Spanish Castilla La Mancha

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Castile{ndash}La Mancha, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Castile-La Mancha? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.