Cape Town


Cape Town

geographical name

City (pop., 2005 est., urban agglom.: 3,103,000), legislative capital of the Republic of South Africa. It is also the capital of Western Cape province. Located on Table Bay, Cape Town has long been an important regional port. The first settlement at Table Bay, it was founded in the 17th century by the Dutch navigator Jan van Riebeeck for the Dutch East India Company, and it soon served as a stopover for ships plying the Europe-to-India route. It was under Dutch rule intermittently until it was taken by the British in 1806. Today it is a commercial and cultural centre. See also Pretoria; Bloemfontein.

Variants of CAPE TOWN

Cape Town Afrikaans Kaapstad

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Cape Town, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Cape Town? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.