Canadian Football League (CFL)

Canadian Football League (CFL)

Major Canadian professional gridiron football organization, formed in 1958. The league's Western Conference includes teams from Edmonton, Calgary, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, and Winnipeg; its Eastern Conference comprises teams from Hamilton, Montreal, Ottawa, and Toronto. The conference winners compete for the Grey Cup. The CFL plays a gridiron style of football.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Canadian Football League (CFL), visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Canadian Football League (CFL)? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More