In Hinduism and Buddhism, the realm of pious celestial spirits. In Theravada, it includes the 20 uppermost planes of existence. The lower 16 of these are the rupa-brahma-loka, material realms inhabited by progressively radiant gods. The highest four realms, the arupa-brahma-loka, are devoid of substance. Rebirth into these realms is the reward for great virtue and meditation; the level attained is determined by faithfulness to the Buddha, the dharma and the sangha. See also arupa-loka, rupa-loka.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on brahma-loka, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up brahma-loka? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More