Austrian Netherlands

Austrian Netherlands

(1713–95) Provinces located in the southern part of the Low Countries, roughly comprising modern Belgium and Luxembourg. In 1713, the Peace of Utrecht gave Emperor Charles VI control of what had been called the Spanish Netherlands. Administration of the region continued under the Habsburg rulers Maria Theresa and later Joseph II, until the Austrian Netherlands was annexed to France in 1795.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Austrian Netherlands, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Austrian Netherlands? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More