Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory

Political entity, southeastern Australia. Area: 910 sq mi (2,358 sq km). Pop. (2008 est.): 344,200. A capital territory was mandated by the 1901 Australian constitution; the site was chosen in 1908. It lies within New South Wales and consists of Canberra and the area around Jervis Bay. Parliament moved there from Melbourne in 1927. In 1989 the territory received responsibility for self-government similar to that held by Australian states.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Australian Capital Territory, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Australian Capital Territory? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More