Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

Trading bloc composed of 25 countries of the Caribbean basin. Responding to a proposal by Pres. Bill Clinton for a Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA), existing Caribbean-area trading blocs joined forces in 1995 to strengthen their economic position and ease future integration into the FTAA. Prominent in the ACS are the Caricom countries (13 English-speaking countries and Suriname), which have been struggling toward a single market and economy along the lines of the European Union. The ACS has addressed such issues as unifying responses to natural disasters, ending the U.S. embargo of Cuba, and ending shipments of nuclear materials through the Panama Canal.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Association of Caribbean States (ACS), visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Association of Caribbean States (ACS)? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More