International organization established by the governments of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand in 1967 to accelerate regional economic growth, social progress, and cultural development and to promote peace and security in the region. Brunei became a member in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Laos and Myanmar (Burma) in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999. ASEAN became a leading voice on regional trade and security issues in the 1990s; in 1992 member nations created the ASEAN Free Trade Area.

Variants of ASEAN

ASEAN in full Association of Southeast Asian Nations

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on ASEAN, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up ASEAN? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.