In Buddhism, the “world of immaterial form,” the highest of the three spheres of existence in which rebirth takes place. The others are the “fine-material world” (rupa-loka) and the “world of feeling” (kama-loka). In the arupa-loka, existence depends on the stage of concentration attained in the previous life, of which there are four levels: the infinity of space, the infinity of thought, the infinity of nonbeing, and the infinity of neither consciousness nor nonconsciousness. Beings in the arupa-loka do not have a material body.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on arupa-loka, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up arupa-loka? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More